Login Register

No slip-ups as strong field master the mud

By MIG: Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: October 09, 2013

Richard Timperley

Comments (0)

Motorsport - Trials

Scott Ellis Trophy Trial

 RICHARD Timperley smoothly guided his MRS Sherco to a well earned victory in the Scott Ellis Trophy Trial on Sunday.

Timperley finished seven marks ahead of last year’s winner Sam Yeomans who, in turn, was seven marks ahead of Corey Dubik.

Related content

The trial was held at Tittersworth Farm near Leek, where rain during the previous week had made some sections muddy and slippery.

Three laps of 15 tough sections faced the entry of 67 riders of which there were only three retirements.

A very good entry of 21 riders tackled the harder route and most found the sections very challenging.

Timperley’s smooth riding style suited the muddy terrain where grip was a real problem.

Sam Yeomans, whose riding continues to improve, was the match of Timperley on most sections but a few small errors lost him that vital edge.

Section 14 was the most difficult, a steep climb with an awkward corner over slippery mud and tree roots.

Yeomans recorded the only clean sheet of the day and posted the lowest score but Timperley's experience won the day on the other hazards.

The remainder of the riders tackled the easier route and the best performance was from Andy Hipwell riding his air cooler Yamaha.

He won the Roly Capper Shield in completing the course with a loss of only three marks.

This was a very close run thing as Mark Weston was only one mark adrift on four with Steve Hitchcock, Matt Spink and Ian Margetts on seven.

The Auto Torque Trophy for the best clubman rider was won by Chris Gilbert who lost 11 marks.

The club would like to thank the landowner, Jim Robinson, and the volunteer observers who made the event possible.

Results:- Expert course: Scott Ellis Trophy Richard Timperley, MRS Sherco, 13; Sam Yeomans, Gas Gas, 20; Corey Dubik, Gas Gas, 27; Mike Roberts, Gas Gas, 34; Kev Hipwell, KK Gas, 38; Tim Pearson, Splat Sherco, 39.

Clubmans Course: Roly Capper Shield Andy Hipwell, Yamaha, 3; Mark Weston, Gas Gas, 4; Steve Hitchcock, Gas Gas, 7; Matt Spink, Gas Gas, 7; Ian Margetts, Fantic, 7.

Auto Torque Trophy Chris Gilbert, 11; Mark Timperley, Sherco, 12; Neil Butterworth, Kel Gas, 13.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters