Login Register

Leek Swimming Gala

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: April 02, 2014

Comments (0)

LEEK swimmers put in a strong performance at the first round of the Four Towns Gala held at Brough Park pool.

Their efforts resulted in Leek taking a comfortable lead with 126 points.

The gala is held between four local clubs – Ashbourne, Belper, Dove Valley and Leek – and provides racing opportunities for both novice and seasoned swimmers.

Individual races have approved 'fastest times' ensuring that the races are competitive. Swimmers achieving times faster than allowed do not receive points and are issued 'speeding tickets'.

In the individual races, there were an impressive 16 first places and six second places.

Leek swimmers won six relays and were positioned second in two relays.

Many of the swimmers were competing in age groups above their own to avoid getting speeding tickets, which makes the victories more notable.

The evening culminated in the cannon, where Leek swimmers were victorious.

Representing the Leek club were: Edward Chen, Arianna Bendall, Callum Rushan, Charlotte Hulse, Sam Reynolds, Abbie Hulbert, Zara Bailey, Harley Capper, Emily Braddock, Beth Cook, Oliver Barlow, Harry Lancaster, Sam Yates, Mandy Chen, Hannah Forsyth-Cox, Jensen Hulbert, Alesia Sollaku, Niall Wilson-Jones, Eden Schiller, David Fryer Winder, Alex Whitehead, Leo Taylor, Olivia Tomkinson, Liam Ticehurst, Zara Bailey, Hannah Goodwin, Eleanor Cartilidge, and Abigail Brook.

For information on how to join the club, call head coach Geoff Summerfield on 01782 399415 or visit the club's website at www.leekasc.com

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters