A SMALL country church is celebrating its 130th anniversary with a weekend of celebrations.
The little country church of St Giles, pictured, which lies next to the ruins of Croxden Abbey, Croxden, was built by The Earl of Macclesfield in 1884 to replace a much older church on the same plot.
The old church, mentioned in the Victoria County History, is believed to have been part of the group of abbey buildings and served originally as a Visitors Chapel.
The architect of the 'new' church was probably a Thomas Johnson of Lichfield, and although he is little-known today, his building still stands as a well-loved and cared-for focus for the surrounding communities of Croxden, Great Gate and further afield.
With churches closing down at an alarming rate in many parts of the country, St Giles still attracts regular members and visitors in good numbers and is a popular venue for small weddings because of its calm beauty and its picturesque setting.
So church members were anxious to mark the 130th birthday of the 'new' building and a special weekend of celebrations is planned.
The 130th Anniversary Service on September 7 at 3pm will be led by The Bishop of Stafford, the Right Reverend Geoff Annas, assisted by the Venerable John Hall, the well-respected vicar of St Giles during the 1990s.
Other events are planned too for the weekend with a fun pub-style quiz on Friday, September 5, at 7.30pm in the marquee beside the church.
On Saturday evening, September 6, at 7.30pm some of Cheadle's own favourite Choral Society members will perform a 'September Serenade' of well-loved songs in St Giles church – to be followed by cheese and wine in the marquee.
Tickets are available now for both these events, and if you would like to come to the anniversary service please call churchwardens Mike Gent (01889 507224) and Christine Hall (01889 507227), or Secretary Stephanie Shevlin (firstname.lastname@example.org).