Login Register

Sport in brief

By MIG: Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: September 11, 2013

Comments (0)


LEEK Gun Club’s Christopher Daniels helped the Staffordshire Clay Pigeon Association senior team win the West Midlands Inter-Counties tournament on Sunday.

The event was held at the Westfields shooting grounds in Gloucester and saw Staffordshire outgun opposition from Gloucestershire, Warwickshire, Cheshire, Derbyshire, and Hereford & Worcester.

Former international gun Daniels led Staffordshire to a winning score of 635 clays, shooting 96/100, with Gloucestershire finishing runners-up on 602.

Daniels went to complete a memorable day by scoring a perfect 20/20 to lift the Masters Trophy as team top gun and also qualified for the White Gold final, at Westfields, on September 29, after a shoot-out.

Fellow Leek Gun Club member Phil Bailey contributed to the Staffordshire total with a return of 90/100.

Staffordshire also won the juniors and veterans to underline the county’s strength in depth at clays. The ladies finished fourth.

Leek Gun Club’s Phil Daniels, the Staffordshire team manager, said: “I’d like to thank assistant team manager Steve Ward for all his help in organising the selection shoots, many times at the cost of his own results.” 


IT’S ALL to play for this week, as the second legs of the semi-finals take place in the main knockout stages of the Leek Summer Pool League.

Prince B hold a tender 7-5 lead after the first leg over Prince A. The first session ended 3-3.

Prince A opened up a lead with wins from Andy Slack and Aidy Kosasih, only for Prince B to win the four remaining frames.

In the other semi-final, it was also 3-3 after the first session between Prince D and The Rock.

Prince D opened up a 6-3 lead with wins from Tony Shaw, Colin Andrews and Gary Kimberley.

But The Rock fought back with two of the last three frames to reduce the deficit to 7- 5.

The Summer Plate knockout is now also at the semi-final stage. Priory take on Prince C, while the Blue Mugge entertain the Plough at Endon.


THERE will be an opportunity to see some of the world’s top racing cyclists in action in the district next week.

They will be competing in the Tour of Britain cycle race, which passes through the Moorlands on Wednesday.

En route to Wales, they face having to tackle the notorious, energy-sapping 1.2 mile climb up Gun Hill, near Leek.

The ascent has been described as English cycling’s answer to the Tour de France’s Col de la Bonnette.


EIGHT members of Cheadle Running Club competed in the annual Ipstones five-mile road race. The challenging course follows an undulating route, comprising lanes and shale tracks.

Lee Plimley marked his return to road racing by being the first club member to finish in 33:43, followed by Russell Williams in 35:06. Mick Beardmore finished in 36:05, winning both the MV60 first prize and also the MV55 Staffordshire Championships gold medal.

Craig Carpenter also won the NSRRA Group G prize in a time of 42:40.

Other club members completing the race were: Adrian Reeves-Jones 39:27, Rachel Beardmore (doing a course best time) 40:49, Laura Hall 49:13 and Sue Baker 50:16.


North Staffordshire & South Cheshire League, Division One SANDYFORD professional Sohail Rauf took an astonishing four wickets in four balls to demolish the Ashcombe Park tail-end batting.

Ashcombe ended up at least 30 runs short of a competitive total, losing their final home game of the season by four wickets.

Asked to bat first Ashcombe had reached 149-6, when Rauf, up to then having decent if unremarkable figures of 2-35, struck in the second over of his return to the attack to end up with 6-35.

Meanwhile, Ashcombe’s 2nd XI captain Ian Alcock continued his outstanding season with the bat. His fifth century of the season was the highest of them all - a massive 160 not out at Bagnall.


LEEK CC SELECTIONS Saturday Leek 1sts (Knypersley a, noon): G Willott, A Mellor, T Steele, C Beech, A Thomson, C Dearden, L Potgieter, N Malik, B Mellor, T Tweats, N Lafford.

Leek Moorlands 1sts (Fenton - h, noon): R Ogden, W. Leeson, M Coxon, Z Jupp, M Bowcock, M Nicholls, S Tweats, J Hughes, S Slater, D Fern, J Tweats.

Leek 2nds (Knypersley - h, 12.30): S Machin, N Grubb, D Hall, J Nixon, A Mahmood, R Corden, N Bailey, D Alcock, M Jones, J Hudson, D Fowler-Hill.

Leek Moorlands 2nds (Fenton – a, 12.30): Team TBA.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters