Login Register

Leek & District Darts League

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: February 26, 2014

Comments (0)

THE BIG two will meet in the final of the Division One Cup after both annihilated their opponents in the semi-finals.

Dyers III dropped only one doubles leg against Ball Haye Tavern III, with Ashcombe Park doing likewise over the other Bodgers side, Earl Davis being the only loser in the singles.

This sets up a mouth-watering clash in April, as both teams are chasing the treble.

In Division Two, Ashcombe Park II caused an upset when they narrowly beat a complacent Lazy Trout to reach a major final for the first time.

With the match tied at 4-4, Kev Plant delivered the killer blow.

This leaves Travellers Rest II as firm favourites to lift the trophy. despite being pushed all the way by a spirited Ashcombe Park I.

Horseshoe are sweeping all before them in Division Three and the semi-final was no exception, as they tore Benks apart.

The other match was not much different, as Prince of Wales went 5-1 before Boat Inn called it a day.

Hare & Gate prevented an all-Blue Mugge final by comfortably taking care of the Osborne Street firsts. Father and son Phil and Craig Webster were the only losers, but only after a tie had been decided.

Blue Mugge II, however, took the honours in the second tie, which should make an entertaining final.

Valiant, riding high in Division Five, could be on course for a double after beating Boat Inn in a one-sided battle, but may face stubborn opposition in the shape of Ball Haye Tavern. The latter quite easily disposed of Dyers Arms from the lower reaches of the table.

In a complete turn-around from the league fixture, Ball Haye Tavern convincingly beat Flying Horse III in the basement tier, with star man Simon Slack leading the rout.

They will meet Lazy Trout in the final, after the latter overcame Priory in a high-octane affair.

Division Cup semi-final results

Division One

Ball Haye Tavern III 1 Dyers Arms III 8; Ashcombe Park IV 8 Ball Haye Tavern II 1.

Division Two

Lazy Trout 4 Ashcombe Park II 5; Travellers Rest II 5 Ashcombe Park I 4.

Division Three

Boat Inn 4 Prince of Wales 5; Benks I 1 Horseshoe 8.

Division Four

Hare & Gate 7 Blue Mugge I 2; Blue Mugge II 6 Benks VI 3.

Division Five

Valiant 7 Boat Inn 2; Dyers Arms I 2 Ball Haye Tavern IV 7.

Division Six

Lazy Trout II 6 Priory 3; Ball Haye Tavern V 7 Flying Horse 2.


180s: J Sales (Dyers III), L Knight (BHT II), R Shallcross (BHT IV), C Knight (Flying Horse III), J Leadbeater (BHT V). Least darts: 17 K Plant (Ashcombe Park II), 18 T Banks, G Zacari (both Ashcombe Park IV), S Wager; 19 J Sales. Highest checkouts: 131 E Davis (Ashcombe Park IV), 119 R Garbacki (BHT II), 104 C Key (Ashcombe Park IV).

G Whitworth and C Key completed their 701 doubles leg in just 22 darts.

There was one league match played, which resulted in a whitewash for Division Four leaders Ball Haye Green Club against Benks III.

The next monthly league meeting will take place at Leek Central Club on Tuesday, March 4, beginning at 8.30pm.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters