Login Register

Leek & District Darts League

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: January 29, 2014

Benks Jon Sowerby prevented a whitewash for his team in the Division Two clash with Travellers Rest II.

Benks Jon Sowerby prevented a whitewash for his team in the Division Two clash with Travellers Rest II.

Comments (0)

Leek & District Darts League

ATTENTION switches to Division Two this week, with three big wins for three of the top four.

Firstly, in the match of the day Benks were hoping to put a dent in Travellers Rest I's championship hopes – but they were dealt a huge blow themselves, coming up against an in-form foe.

Red Lion replaced them in third spot, handing out a similar thrashing to bottom-placed Stafford Arms, while Lazy Trout did the same to relegation-haunted Abbey |Inn.

At the top level, it was business as usual for Dyers III as they tore Wellington apart, but Ashcombe struggled against Ball Haye Tavern I, coming back from 3-0 down after the doubles.

Butchers Arms maintained third after a close victory over Dyers II and Bodgers III climbed out of the relegation places with a fine away win at fellow strugglers Snooker Club.

There was no change at the top of the third division, with Plough pushing Horseshoe hard but to no avail and Windmill securing a comfortable success over Benks. Prince of Wales got back to winning ways with a home win over lowly Abbey.

Ball Haye Green Club continue to set the pace in the fourth tier. Hare & Gate finally got back on track with a welcome win at Benks VI.

It was a bad night all round for the Stockwell Street pub, as Mill Street Club ended Benks III's recent good run.

Boat Inn gained a point on championship rivals Valiant as the race in Division Five hots up. Snooker Club consolidated third place with an away win at Rose & Crown.

Fountain have dropped out of Division Six and all their second half fixtures have been deleted.

Flying Horse III are top but Ball Haye Tavern now have two games in hand. Lower down, Wellington dished out another defeat to struggling Elmos.


Division One

Dyers Arms IV 5 Ball Haye Tavern II 4; Ball Haye Tavern I 4 Ashcombe Park 5; Butchers Arms 5 Dyers Arms II 4; Wellington 2 Dyers Arms III 7; Snooker Club 3 Ball Haye Tavern III 6. Highlights: 180s – E Dunn-Fox (BHT I), G Whitworth (Ashcombe), C Brace (Dyers II), C Needham (Butchers); T Wright, D |Hollins (both Wellington); J Burke (Leek Snooker Club).

Division Two

Travellers Res I 4 Ashcombe Park II 5; Ashcombe Park I 6 Rose & Crown 3; Lazy Trout 8 Abbey Inn 1; Red Lion (Waterfall) 8 Stafford Arms 1; Benks 1 Travellers Rest II 8. Highlights: 180s – M Emery, J Sowerby (both Benks). Least darts – B Knipe (Ashcombe II); 19 J Sowerby.

Division Three

Prince of Wales 7 Abbey Inn 2; Boat Inn 5 Flying Horse 4; Windmill 7 Benks 2; Ashcombe Park 2 Mill Street Club 7; Plough 3 Horseshoe 6. Highlights: 180s – D Hill (Plough), M Rowley (Ashcombe). Least darts – 19 C Allen (Flying Horse). Highest checkout – 108 J Berrisford (Benks).

Division Four

Mill Street Club 5 Benks III 4; Benks VI 4 Hare & Gate 5; Central Club II 2 Ball Haye Green Club 7; Pride of the Moorlands 1 Blue Mugge II 8. Blue Mugge I v Central Club I – no scorecard received.

Division Five

Rose & Crown 3 Snooker Club 6; Dyers Arms 4 Valiant 5; Benks 3 Boat Inn 6; Ball Haye Tavern 5 Bird in Hand 4. Highlights: 180s – K Peacock (Benks), G Ratcliffe (Snooker Club).

Division Six

Elmos 3 Wellington 6; Flying Horse III 7 Priory 2; Flying Horse II 3 Lazy Trout 6. Highlight: 180 – M Naden (Priory).


RESULTS of the first round, played at the Dyers Arms, Leek, last Friday, are as follows:-

N Schonau 2 G Riley 0; C Dunn Fox 2 N Platts 0; A Carter 2 G Stone 0 C Brace 2; C Corden 0 M Harvey 2; D Graham 0 R Jones 2; N.Rutter 2 K Plant 1; R Lyford 2 I Keeling 0; D Reid 2 J Carnihan 0; P Richardson 2 S Carter 0; J Sales 2 S Carter 0; D Finney 2 I Wood 1; G Jones 2 J Dawson 0; P Wedgebury 2 S Blunt 1; J Burke 2 C Barber 0; W Hall 2 M Barlow 0.

Second round matches to be played this Friday (January 31): T Banks or R Mellor v P Wedgebury; M Whitworth or D.Tamblyn v D Finney; N Rutter v C Brace; R Jones v G Jones; C Wainwright v R Lyford; D Reid v P Richardson; N Schonau v C Dunn Fox; M Reeves v A Salt; P Martin v S Davies; G Tatton v I Rogers; J Sales v C Duffield; M Harvey v W Hall; S Salt v J Burke; M Knight v C Beswick or G Whitworth; A Carter v M Richardson; C Webster v J Hughes or P Heath.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters