Login Register

Leek and District Sports Council Sports Awards 2013

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: March 26, 2014

Comments (0)

A PACKED Rudyard Lake Sailing Club hosted the 2013 Leek & District Sports Council annual awards evening.

The presentations were made by Leek town mayor John Fisher and Dave Powell – the latter representing John McDermott of Collpac Packaging, who sponsored all the events other than the Howson Junior Trophy, which was sponsored by Howson Chartered Accountants of Leek.

The results were as follows:

Senior Sports Personality of the Year: Matt Boardman (Leek Hockey Club). Matt represented England over 40s in the Home Internationals and European Championships. He scored in all five matches.

Junior Achiever of the Year: Joe Hulme (Leek Swimming Club). Joe was selected for the Midlands region team.

Coach of the Year: Osborn Spence (Leek Shooting Centre).

Volunteer of the Year: Marilyn Deaville (Bagnall Cricket Club).

Team of the Year (trophy given in memory of Bernard Cordon and presented by his son Peter): Leek Ladies Park Bowling Club first team.

A Special Achievement award was presented to Sheen Farmers for representing England in various tug-of-war competitions throughout the year and being crowned world 640 kilos champions.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters