Login Register

Leek Archery Club enter five teams in the Selby Summer Postal League

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: June 11, 2014

Comments (0)

LEEK Archery club have entered five teams in the Selby Summer Postal League – three recurve and two longbow teams.

The recurve competition involves shooting six-dozen arrows at a 80cm face over a distance of 50 and 30 metres. In May, two of the recurve teams and one longbow team won.



Related content

Leek A (Mike Underwood, Neil Johnson and Julian Poole) 1637 Gravesend 1722

Leek B ( John Byrne, Brian Pearson and Mark Gilbert) 1364 Pilgrim did not shoot.

Leek C (Barry Ellams, Neil Parton and Steve Cotterill) 1120 Bayeaux B 348.


Leek 1sts (Terry Poole and Richard Rigby) 449 Grays A 429.

Leek 2nds (Neil Parton and Mary Turnock) 239 lost to their opponents who scored 246.

Highest scoring Leek archers:


1 Michael Underwood 574.

2 Neil Johnson 537.

3 Julian Poole 526.


1 Terry Poole 243.

2 Richard Rigby 206.

3 Neil Parton 140.


1 Richard Rigby 284.

2 Mary Turnock 178.

3 Terry Poole 119.

The handicap cup was won by Janet Butler, who lost two off her handicap. Runner-up was Mike Underwood (-2), and third Brian Pearson (-1).

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters