Login Register

Leek Archery Club and Leek Town under-17 girls

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: July 09, 2014

Comments (0)


TREBLE winners Leek Town under-17 girls represented the area with distinction at the ACES national football tournament held in Leicester.

The team got through the group stage without losing a game, recording two wins and three draws, including draws with Welsh champions Merthyr Tydfil and last year's winners, Lewes.

Leek finished second in their group, with only St Albans and Newcastle upon Tyne winning more games in the groups.

Related content

Leek beat Chesterfield 1-0 and Gainsborough 1-0 to find themselves in the quarter-finals.

With a squad of only 13 on the day, Leek started to run out of steam playing 20 minute 11-a-side games throughout a long day and were narrowly beaten in the quarter-final by Middlesbrough.

A team spokesman said: "To finish in the top eight in England and Wales for their age group in grassroots football is a fantastic achievement by the girls."


LEEK Archery Club have entered five teams in the Selby Summer Postal League. They include three recurve teams and two longbow teams.

The recurve competition involves shooting six-dozen arrows at a 80cm face over a distance of 50 and 30 metres. Three of the Leek teams won.



Leek A (Julian Pool, John Byrne and Mike Underwood) lost 1713- 1640 to Blue Arrows A

Leek B (Mark Gilbert, Neil Johnson and Brian Pearson) beat Meridian B 1280-951.

Leek C (Neil Parton, Barry Ellams, and Tony Butler) had a bye with a score of 1052.

Handicap Cup

1 Neil Parton -5; 2 TonyButler -2; 3 Simon Whittaker -3; 4 Kath Ferns, 5 Barry Ellams -1; 6 Brian Pearson - 1.


Leek A (Richard Rigby and Neil Parton) lost 407-375 to RLSAS .

Leek B (Terry Poole and Mary Turnock) won with a score of 239, as their opponents Ditchling did not shoot.

Highest-scoring archers


1 Julian Poole 574 .

2 John Byrne 545.

3 Michael Underwood 521.


1 Richard Rigby 195.

2 Neil Parton 180.

3 Terry Poole 141.

Longbow handicap winners

1 Mary Turnock .

2 Richard Rigby.

3 Terry Poole.


THE 38th running of the Cheadle 4 Road race is only a few days away.

It takes place this Sunday, starting from Tean Road recreation ground at 10.30am.

The race also forms part of the North Staffs Road Runners Association (NSRRA) programme.

The entry fee is £7 for affiliated runners and £9 for unaffiliated competitors. Entries are accepted on the day, but with an extra charge of £2.

A short fun run is held before the main race (start 10am) – the entry fee for this is £2.50. More information and entry forms are available at www.cheadlerunningclub.co.uk. The race is sponsored by Stoddards and Derek Fower Transport.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters