Login Register

Bill Day from the Staffordshire Moorlands has been nominated for a MORE award for work on Stoke-on-Trent and Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Authority

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: June 08, 2014

County councillor Bill Day.

Comments (0)

A DEDICATED member of the county's fire authority has been nominated for a MORE award.has been nominated for a MORE Award.

Councillor Bill Day, who represents the Caverswall ward on the county council, will find out if he has scooped the prestigious title of 'Member Involvement in the Community' on June 12.

The awards are run by the Stoke-on-Trent and Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Authority

The annual ceremony held by the fire and rescue service is in its seventh year and will take place at the County Showground in Stafford on June 12.

Related content

It aims to highlight the work carried out by operational and support staff, as well as voluntary members of the team.

Councillor Day has been nominated for his commitment to helping shape the future of the fire service through his work on the Scrutiny and Performance Committee.

He has been instrumental in helping to implement a pilot project in Cannock which saw a significant reduction in small fires.

Councillor Day has also played a role in developing the Community Safety and Well-being Strategy.

Chief Fire Officer Peter Dartford said: "We are lucky to have an extremely dedicated and hard-working team, in terms of operational and support staff as well as voluntary members of the team, at Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Service, and we are proud of the excellent work that they carry out on a daily basis.

"The roles within the service are incredibly diverse, but each member of staff plays a key part in ensuring it runs smoothly and every individual is a vital cog in our wheel.

"The MORE Awards are our way of thanking those who have truly gone the extra mile to provide the first class service, either on the front line or behind the scenes, that the communities of Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent have rightfully come to expect of us."

Nine awards will be presented in total including: Fire Service Champion – Externally nominated (sponsored by FHP Blue Light Estates); Peter Harrison Innovation and Improvement Champion (sponsored by GW Energy); Leadership Message and Cultural Framework Champion; Young Person of the Year (sponsored by Kier); Fire Service Champion – Service to the Community; Fire Service Fund-raiser Champion; Fire Service Champion – Partnership Achievement (sponsored by Eversheds); Fire Service Champion (sponsored by DAC beachcroft); and Member Involvement in the Community.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters