Login Register

Long serving darts players honoured

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: August 22, 2014

Comments (0)


LONG-SERVING players Tom Ditchfield and Geoff Whitehurst were made honorary life members at the annual meeting of Leek & District Darts League.

League chairman Phil Keates opened proceedings, and in his annual report congratulated the committee on making the recent presentation evening such a success.

He said he hoped the league would continue to grow in stature as one of the largest and most competitive in North Staffordshire.

Related content

The treasurer's report showed a drop in the final balance of some £290, due to the replacement of some trophies.

It was decided unanimously that in order to cut costs, and in line with other leagues in the area, trophies not collected by teams absent at the presentation evening should be retained by the league and re-used the following season.

This would hopefully encourage all prizewinners to attend in future years and, if not, also cut the cost of purchasing new trophies.

The committee was re-elected en-bloc:

Chairman: Phil Keates.

Treasurer: Simon Dickin.

Secretary: Roger Graves.

Competition secretaries: Dave Scragg and Jon Sowerby.

President: Martin Bowcock.

Auditor: S A Hollinshead.

After the meeting, registration forms were handed out for the coming season.

These must be returned, together with the £45 fee, by Tuesday, September 2, when the first league meeting will be held at the Old Central.

There will then be a further meeting on Tuesday, September 16., when fixture sheets will be distributed and the cup draws made.

Both meetings will start at 8.30pm. Any queries can be resolved by contacting a committee member.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters