Login Register

2014 Betfred Midlands Grand National Prize Fund rises to £100,000

By Leek Post and Times  |  Posted: January 21, 2014

horse racing
Comments (0)

The Betfred Midlands Grand National Day at Uttoxeter Racecourse on 15th March 2014 has received a 29% boost to its prize fund taking the total for the day to £165,000.

The Betfred Midlands Grand National has an extra £20,000 added, taking it up to £100,000 with the winner receiving just under £57,000.

The ever popular Midlands Grand National Day is Uttoxeter’s premiere meeting sponsored entirely by Betfred with 4 races shown live on Channel 4.

It not only attracts the best staying chasers in the country, many en route to Aintree, but record breaking crowds flock to the Staffordshire track for the annual highlight.

The feature has been won in great style for the last 3 years by West Country trainer David Pipe who will be targeting horses for the 4m 1 ½ f stamina test, a fourth win for him would be a record breaking achievement.

David Macdonald, Executive Director at Uttoxeter said, “I am delighted that we are able to give this prestigious event the boost it deserves.

"It is the highlight of our year and continues to grow in popularity, a real highlight in Staffordshire’s sporting calendar.”

Charlie Moore, Clerk of the Course commented: “This is great news and I hope that the extra prize money will ensure good quality fields and competitive racing not only for the Betfred Midlands Grand National but in the supporting card too.

"Coming at the end of Cheltenham week we have to ensure this day remains attractive and I believe this is a great move to achieve just that.

"I would love to see David Pipe continue his winning sequence”

The Betfred Midlands Grand National Meeting is on Saturday 15th March when the seven race card is due to get underway at 2.05pm with the gates opening at 11.00am.

Uttoxeter Racecourse is owned by Arena Racing Company (ARC); the largest racecourse operator in the UK hosting nearly 40% of the fixture list.

Fifteen racecourses make up the group including three of the four all weather tracks in the UK.

Racecourses in the group include Bath, Brighton, Chepstow, Doncaster, Ffos Las, Fontwell Park, Great Yarmouth, Lingfield Park, Newcastle, Royal Windsor, Sedgefield, Southwell, Uttoxeter, Wolverhampton and Worcester.

Read more from Leek Post & Times

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters